Recommended Reading

Bach and Biography

Geck, Martin. Johann Sebastian Bach: Life and Work. Orlando: Harcourt Books, 2000.

Schulze, Hans-Joachim. The French Influence on Bach’s Instrumental Music. In Early Music, Vol. 13, No. 2, J.S. Bach Tercentenary Issue. May, 1985, 180-184.

Taruskin, Richard. “Bach’s Suites.” In Oxford History of Western Music: Music in the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010.

Wolff, Christoph. Bach: Essays on His Life and Music. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1991.

Wolff, Christoph. Johann Sebastian Bach: The Learned Musician. New York: W.W. Norton, 2000.


Beach, David W. Aspects of Unity in J.S. Bach’s Partitas and Suites: An Analytical Study. Rochester, NY: University of Rochester Press, 2005.

Grützbach, Erwin. Zur Interpretation der Sechs Suiten für Violoncello Solo von Johann Sebastian Bach: Stil- und Spielprobleme bei der Interpretation der 6 Suiten für Violoncello solo senza Basso von Johann Sebastian Bach BVW 1007-1012. Eisenach: Verlag der Musikalienhandlung, 1993.

Winold, Allen. Bach’s Cello Suites: Analyses and Explorations. Volume 1: Texts. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2007.

Winold, Allen. Bach’s Cello Suites: Analyses and Explorations. Volume 2: Musical Examples. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2007.

Historical Treatises and Performance Manuals

Descartes, René. “The Doctrine of the Affections.” In Music in the Western World: A History of Documents. Selected and Annotated by Piero Weiss and Richard Taruskin. Belmont, CA: Schirmer, 1984, 212-217.

Mattheson, Johann. “Affektenlehre.” In Music in the Western World: A History of Documents. Selected and Annotated by Piero Weiss and Richard Taruskin. Belmont, CA: Schirmer, 2008, 217-219.

Mattheson, Johann. “Geberden-Kunst.” In Der vollkommene Capellmeister. Translated by Ernest Charles Harriss. Ann Harbor, MI: UMI Research Press, 1981.

Mozart, Leopold. A Treatise on the Fundamental Principles of Violin Playing. Translated by Editha Knocker. London: Oxford University Press, 1963.

Quantz, Johann Joachim. On Playing the Flute. Translated by Edward R. Reilly. New York: The Free Press, 1966.

Performance Practice

Efrati, Richard R. Treatise on the Execution and Interpretation of the Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin and the Suites for Solo Cello by Johann Sebastian Bach. Translated by Efrati, Richard with Harry Lyth. Zürich: Atlantis Musikbuch-Verlag, 1979.

Ledbetter, David. Unaccompanied Bach: Performing the Solo Works. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2009.

Baroque Dance and Gesture

Bartel, Dietrich. Musica Poetica: Musical-Rhetorical Figures in German Baroque Music. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1997.

Duerden, Rachel. “Dancing in the Imagined Space of Music.” Dance Research: The Journal of the Society for Dance Research 25, No. 1 (Summer 2007), 73-83.

Kubik, Reinhold and Margit Legler. “Rhetoric, Gesture and Scenic Imagination in Bach’s Music.” In Understanding Bach. Volume 4. UK: Bach Network, 2009, 55-76.

Little, Meredith and Natalie Jenne. Dance and the Music of J.S. Bach. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2001.

Mather, Betty Bang. Dance Rhythms of the French Baroque: A Handbook for Performance. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1987.

McKee, Eric. “Influences of the Early Eighteenth-Century Social Minuet on the Minuets From J. S. Bach’s French Suites, BWV 812-17.” In Music Analysis, 18. 1999, 235–260.

Mellers, Wilfrid. “Voice and Body: Bach’s Solo Cello Suites as an Apotheosis of the Dance.” In Bach and the Dance of God. London: Faber and Faber Limited, 1980.

Qureshi, Rifat Javed. “The Influence of Baroque Dance in the Performance of Johann Sebastian Bach’s ‘Six Suites a Violoncello Senza Basso.” D.M.A. thesis, Rice University, 1994.

Ratner, Leonard G. Classic Music: Expression, Form, and Style. New York: Schirmer, 1980.

Waterman, Ruth. “Rhythm: The Living, Lilting Pulse of Dance.” Strad. 108.1284 (1997): 418-421.

Criticism/Reviews/Journalistic Explorations

Eisenberg, Maurice. “Casals and the Bach Suites.” New York Times, 1943.

Siblin, Eric. The Cello Suites: J.S. Bach, Pablo Casals, and the Search for a Baroque Masterpiece. New York: Atlantic Monthly Press, 2009.

Taruskin, Richard. “Six Times Six: A Bach Suite Selection.” In The Danger of Music: and other anti-Utopian essays. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2009, 66-70.